

Please cite the Published Version

Liskiewicz, T ^(D) (2022) Editorial. Tribology: Materials, Surfaces and Interfaces, 16 (3). p. 187. ISSN 1751-584X

DOI: https://doi.org/10.1080/17515831.2022.2123170

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

Version: Accepted Version

CC)

Downloaded from: https://e-space.mmu.ac.uk/630948/

BY-NC

Usage rights:

Creative Commons: Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0

Additional Information: This is the Author Accepted Manuscript of an editorial comment published in Tribology: Materials, Surfaces and Interfaces, by Taylor & Francis.

Enquiries:

If you have questions about this document, contact openresearch@mmu.ac.uk. Please include the URL of the record in e-space. If you believe that your, or a third party's rights have been compromised through this document please see our Take Down policy (available from https://www.mmu.ac.uk/library/using-the-library/policies-and-guidelines)

Editorial

We were extremely saddened to learn of the death of Professor Anne Neville on 2 July 2022. Anne founded Tribology - Materials, Surfaces & Interfaces journal in 2007 and was its Editor-in-Chief for fourteen years until her retirement in 2020.

Anne Neville was a mechanical engineer with a specific interest in corrosion, tribology and processes that occur at engineering interfaces. She graduated from University of Glasgow in 1992 and received her PhD in corrosion science/engineering in 1995 from the same department. She was appointed as lecturer at Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh immediately after PhD and started to build a research team. This team grew to 25 researchers in the following years and in 1999 she was promoted to Reader and then Professor in 2002. Anne and her group moved to Leeds in 2003 where she was Director of the newly formed Institute of Functional Surfaces which comprises 70 researchers.

Anne was elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2005 and FREng in 2010. She was awarded the Donald Julius Groen Prize for Tribology in 2012, Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award in 2013, STLE Wilbert Shultz Prize in 2014 and was selected as an EPSRC RISE (Recognising Inspirational Scientists and Engineers) Fellow in 2014. She was the first woman to be awarded the James Clayton Prize and Royal Society Leverhulme medal in 2016. In 2017 she was elected as a fellow of the prestigious Royal Society (FRS) and was awarded OBE in the New Year's Honours.

Anne will first of all be remembered for her seminal contributions to the materials science community through her fundamental understanding of functional surfaces. But she will also be remembered for her warm human qualities and for transforming lives of many young researchers. Her legacy will live on in the staff and students she has inspired and worked with. Well beyond her research group and the international research community, Anne's premature passing will be felt as a tremendous loss.

Tomasz Liskiewicz

Editor-in-Chief